top of page

Reviews Page 1

Ira & Janne Korkka  Finland

We were happy to return to St Gennys and the Old School House after enjoying our stay so much last year. It's so lovely to stay at a place that is so warm,cozy and comfortable. Thank you for being so friendly and hospitable! We've spent most of our time enjoying the sea, scones and sea food, We hope to come back.!

Francis - Oct 2023

Rosie & Paul Colley

Lovely to see you both again,it was if we had never been away. We love this setting & Francis Cottage, we never want to leave. Thanks to you both for making our stay a very pleasant one. Hope to see you again soon.

Francis - Oct 2023

David & Marion King

We had a lovely break in North Cornwall and our stay in Francis Cottage added to our enjoyment! Thank you to our hosts.

Francis - Sept 2023

Lauren & Wendy Pierce

What a fabulous stay in Lanes Cottage. Beautiful cottage and perfect hosts! We couldn't have asked for more. The morning views with a coffee overlooking the sea and the nearby beaches & coastal paths, the walks were breathtaking. Paddle boarding at Boscastle with the clearest water, having fun with family will be memories we will never forget. Thank you for sharing this amazing place with us, and taking so much time to make us feel welcome. Already planning our next visit.

Lanes - Sept 2023

Hazel & Rob Jones

Thanks for a wonderful stay in your lovely cottage, in such an idyllic spot!

Francis - Sept 2023

Bev & Gordon MacDonnell

We have had a wonderful week in Francis Cottage and the best weather we have ever had in this country! We loved the peace and quiet here, especially enjoyed our Tai Chi outside looking at the sea framed by the trees and cliffs in the mornings. We revisited Tintagel where we spent our honeymoon 53 years ago & found a little statue for our garden. We also loved the churchyard and the view from the seat overlooking the sea. Thanks to you both for your kindness and such thoughtful touches which make this such a special place to stay.

Definitely 5 stars! ⛥⛥⛥⛥⛥

Francis - Sept 2023

Elaine & Steve Carr

Wonderful cottage, lovely location & perfect hosts! Thank you!

School House - July 2023

Tim Chalmers, Nic & Lizzie

We have had a wonderful stay. The attention to detail at the cottage is wonderful. The area has so much to offer, coastal walks, fabulous farm shops and beaches. Thank you.

Lanes - July 2023

Therasa, George, Kathy Welch

Gorgeous cottage with a wonderful sea view. Spotlessly clean and so nice to have milk in the fridge and scones + cream waiting for us when we arrived. Will definitely recommend to all my friends and family.

Francis - July 2023

Ralf, Heidrun, Anna & Lilli Germany

We are very thankful to stay in this cosy cottage here. We like the house really much and enjoyed you so much as our nice and friendly hosts! Thank you also for the lovely reception with the delicious cream tea waiting here for us. Our highlights are first a water safari on a speedboat going on from Padstow. Second I would say it was the Eden Project. But we also enjoyed the Crackington Haven beach really much and we went there for swimming almost every day. Thank you so much! It was great!

Francis - July 2023

James & Reni Antony

A beautiful little cottage, so very comfy. Spotlessly clean and welcoming. Angela and Daniel are the perfect hosts. It was so peaceful and calm. Thank you both so very much for making our holiday so very special. Sorry to leave.

School House - July 2023

James, Nichola, Madelaine, Evelyn & Oliver Coldman

Thank you for a wonderful week in your beautiful cottage. It really has a 'home from home' feel and we've all loved staying here. It has everything we needed & more. Those extra touches didn't go unnoticed ... the delicious cream tea, fresh flowers, milk for a

cuppa ...'Thank You'. We also appreciate your warm and friendly nature, how you could give tips and recommendations and how you showed such interested how we had spent our day. We all enjoyed chatting with you., especially the girls. We all had the most wonderful week for our first visit to Cornwall ... we couldn't choose a favorite place.  We visited Crackington Haven beach here and had so much fun! The Eden Project is well worth a visit.

Padstow is a lovely town with great shops and places to eat  , and gorgeous harbour ..crabbing from the harbour wall is a must. St Michaels Mount is a long drive but so worth it. Thank you both again, we will definitley be back in the future.

Francis - June 2023

Bridget & Peter Hall

We had a wonderful week in this outstanding cottage.Everything has been of the highest quality and so very clean. A warm welcome and nothing has been too much trouble! We have enjoyed exploring Cornwall and the weather has been exceptional. A good meal at the Coombe Barton Inn in  Crackington Haven and some lovely evening sunsets over the bay. Thank you very much for an outstanding holiday.

School House - June 2023

Rachel, Aidrian, Charlotte & Jacob Howell

Thank you so much for such a fantastic week! The cottage is just lovely and in a truly beautiful location. We've spent most of our time on the beach in Crackington Haven and Widemouth Bay: all the little cafes there are very nice. Boscastle made for a good trip out, and we really loved Boscastle Farm Shop and cafe with its stunning views and fabulous food. The pop up Pizza van (Il Forno Pizzas) at Crackington Haven on Tuesday was great for a midweek takeaway treat. Thanks so much for being such friendly and welcoming hosts - so many thoughtful touches like the beach equipment and cream tea to welcome us on arrival that we really appreciated. We would love to come back again in a few years when the children are a bit bigger and explore further!

Lanes - June 2023

Leigh Guyatt

Thank you both for everything - a wonderful stay again. Hopefully we'll be back in some combination.

Francis - June 2023

George & Lyn Lawson

What a lovely cottage in a fantastic spot. Thank you for making us feel so welcome.

A great holiday.

School House - June 2023

John, Carolyn, Janette Scriven

Wonderful stay here, stunning location and a very friendly welcome.Thanks

Francis - June 2023

Samantha Costanza

From the moment we arrived we knew instantly that we made the best choice in a holiday home for the week. Will miss waking to the most gorgeous view from the bedroom window and the sound of the local pheasant. Thank you for sharing this amazing home.

School House - May 2023

Alison, Alistair & Naomi

We have had a great time over the week, exploring new places and visiting some old! Leaving with some good memories. Thank you for such a lovely place to stay, very warm and welcoming.

Lanes - May 2023

Vanessa & Peter Reay

A lovely holiday once again. Happy to arrive, sorry to leave.

School House - May 2023

Kay Tarrant. John, Sue & Trev

Absolutly WONDERFUL! 12/10 😊 What a beautiful place, inside and out. Loved the cosy, pretty, and totally comfortable 'vibe'. Thank you.

Francis - May 2023

Meshca, Franciska, Todeo & Bruno Germany

Thank you so much for this wonderful week we could spend in your beautiful cottage! It has definitely the most beautiful view! We cant think a single highlight because everything was so gorgeous , but we really loved Crackington Haven  and Port Issac , although the rude seagulls 😊.We hope we are coming back one day.

Francis - Apr 2023

Claes & Birgitta Witting Sweden

Thank you for being so friendly and welcoming! We had a very nice stay and were lucky with only one day of rain! South coast path never leaves you disappointed! So beautiful! Titagel and Pencarrow gave us new knowledge. . We are leaving Cornwall and Lanes cottage with lots of nice memories and stronger leg muscles.

Lanes - Apr 2023

Kerry & Karl Jenkins

Thankyou for a wonderful stay in Francis Cottage, we received the warmest welcome & have made the loveliest memories.

Francis - Aug 2022

Viv Sears

We had a fantastic holiday, the cottage & the surroundings were just so beautiful & peaceful. The owners Angela & Dan were so helpful & very approachable. When we arrived there was scones, jam & cream which was a lovely touch. Will definitely be returning one day.

Francis - Aug 2022

Susanna Amiel

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Lane's Cottage at At Genny's , Crackington Haven. The cottage was a real Gem in a perfect setting. The presentation, cleanliness and decoration were second to none and we really can't praise this lovely holiday home highly enough. The hosts Angela & Daniel are very welcoming and helpful whilst remaining unintrusive and letting you enjoy a fully relaxing holiday. The location is perfect for visiting some of the interesting and picturesque villages along the coastline, we enjoyed lovely weather and so went to a different place everyday Boscastle, Tintagel and Port Isaac to name just a few. Thank you both for a SUPERB holiday in one of  your exceptional cottages.We loved our week at The Old School House. It is furnished to an excellent standard and there are plenty of lovely touches which take it beyond the average holiday rental property. The view to the sea is delightful. It was our first time in this part of Cornwall and it really captured our hearts. Crackington Haven is a beautiful spot and wasn't too busy despite it being peak season. The  surrounding coastal walks are also fabulous. The owners are really helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. We hope to return!

School House - July 2022

Helen Braime

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Lane's Cottage at At Genny's , Crackington Haven. The cottage was a real Gem in a perfect setting. The presentation, cleanliness and decoration were second to none and we really can't praise this lovely holiday home highly enough. The hosts Angela & Daniel are very welcoming and helpful whilst remaining unintrusive and letting you enjoy a fully relaxing holiday. The location is perfect for visiting some of the interesting and picturesque villages along the coastline, we enjoyed lovely weather and so went to a different place everyday Boscastle, Tintagel and Port Isaac to name just a few. Thank you both for a SUPERB holiday in one of  your exceptional cottages.

Lanes-June 2022

Paul Burns

We had a delightful week at Francis cottage. The owners were very welcoming on arrival and helpful during our stay, the cream tea on arrival was delicious.
The accommodation was very clean and well presented throughout both internally and externally with a well fitted kitchen and spacious bedrooms. We enjoyed its quiet location in an area which is great for visiting the North Cornwall towns of Bude, Boscastle, Tintangel, Padstow and Bodmin Moor. It is also superbly situated for stunning walks along the South West Coastal path as only a 5 min walk away. We would thoroughly recommend this as we couldn't fault our stay here at all.

Francis-June 2022

Elizabeth King

We enjoyed a wonderful week here. The location is great, right on the coastal path. The walk to Crackington Haven is lovely and manageable for our 5 year old. It's a short drive to loads of towns and attractions. The cottage was beautiful with great outdoor space too. The views are stunning and we could never tire of them. We got a warm welcome. The owners are very friendly and helpful. It's clear they have a real interest in their guests enjoying their holidays from all the thoughtful touches. The cottage had everything you could need for a great holiday. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

Francis-May 2022

Jacky & Rick Warrington

Our expectations were high and they have been exceeded. Thank you!

Can we compliment you on a truly perfect holiday home. We have been fortunate to stay in many cottages but this is perfection. You have thought of everything a holiday guest could need and all so pristine but welcoming. 

Thank you for the info on walks and recommendations. We've followed your suggestions and bused to walks and places.

P.S. Views and grounds are wonderful. I will be able to conjure them up in my mind till we return.

Francis-Mar 2022

Jacky, John and Richard Goodwin

We have had a wonderful week at The Old School House. It is such a lovely place. It felt like being at home. Very clean and neat and tidy. We had the most amazing weather and great walks along the cliff to Crackington Haven for a deserved glass of cider. Angela and Daniel were super hosts and hopefully we will come back again. March 21st to the 28th.2022. 

School House-Mar 2022

Simon Sennett

A lovely quiet spot with a great sea view! The property was spacious and very nicely decorated. We have no hesitation in recommending to anyone! Idea base for exploring North Cornwall

Francis-Aug 2021

Jane Hazard

We enjoyed a fantastic break at Lane's Cottage in July 2021. The cottage

was really clean, very well appointed with it's own garden and views out

to sea and Lundy. The location was beautiful, extremely quiet and

peaceful. You could hear the church flag fluttering in the evening breeze.

A good base for days out to many of Cornwall's attractions.

 

Daniel and Angela, our hosts, were accommodating, professional and

friendly and all our needs were catered for whilst leaving us to enjoy

our holiday.

 

All in all the stay far exceeded our expectations and we would love to

stay there again. Can't recommend it enough.

Lanes-July 2021

Jill Jennison

We had an excellent stay at Francis cottage. It is exceptionally clean and the cosy furnishings make it feel immediately welcoming. The hosts are very accommodating, helpful and eager to please. The view over the fields to the sea beyond is truly lovely. We wouldn’t hesitate to return to this tranquil setting. All three cottages are delightful

Francis-July 2021

Marilyn Pettinger

Would definitely recommend this cottage, in such a quiet location with a lovely garden space. (Also the local Boscastle Farm Shop for great cafe food, fresh food supplies, and a nice selection of gifts).

Fr\ncis-June 2021

John Stratford

The standards in this cottage were above expectations and the welcome from Angela and Dan was exceptional.
The cottage was extremely clean and well presented. It had all the essentials required for a self catering cottage despite being 'decluttered' for covid reasons.
The location was very quiet - if you listened hard enough you could just about hear the sea crashing on the rocks on the nearby coast!
There is a lovely walk to Crackington Haven albeit the last bit down to the village is a bit steep and takes about 30 minutes well worth it for the views.
An ideal base to visit other areas of Cornwall - usually busy - but coming back to the tranquility of the School House is a warm welcome.
Highly recommended.

School House-June 2021

Jenny Johnson

We were absolutely delighted with this cottage. Huge thanks to Angela and Daniel for their care and attention to detail. Thoroughly recommended. Jenny & Neil

Lanes-June 2021

Amanda McCallum

Lovely comfortable cottage. Exactly as described on website. Very clean and obviously taking covid cleanliness preparations between guests very seriously.

Lanes-June 2021

Nicholas Mould

We had a wonderful stay at the Old School House. The house was very clean and well-equipped and was warm, comfortable and homely. There were lovely local walks along the cliffs and Boscastle, Tintagel and Bude were great local places to visit.
We also had an excellent meal at the Port William pub, Trebarwith Strand and a very good cream tea at Rectory Farm.
Daniel and Angela were great hosts and were very helpful with local knowledge. We plan to visit again as soon as possible.
Highly recommended.

School House-May 2021

Anna Greenburgh

We had a lovely stay at Lanes cottage. The garden is enormous with stunning views, and the cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The location is great for exploring the coastline as well as towns such as Padstow. Lots of great restaurants, pubs and beautiful beaches near by. Angela and Daniel gave us many excellent recommendations, and were very welcoming.

Lanes-May 2021

Heather Leach

We had a wonderful holiday at Francis'. The cottage was ideal for us and our 6 month old baby (the black out blinds in the top bedroom were excellent for stopping early morning wakings) - really comfortable and absolutely immaculate. The view of the sea was spectacular. After many many months of lockdowns, it was the perfect place to get away!

Francis-Apr 2021

Rebecca Hemmings

We have had the pleasure of staying at the old school house cottages on two separate occasions. The first was in the School House and the second time in Francis cottage. The setting and standard of these cottages never fails to impress us. 

 

We have already left a review for the School House (Nov 2020) and now on to its ‘little sister’ Francis cottage! Who would have thought you could improve on the School House?!? Well, Francis cottage, for us, was perfect. Being only two of us, we loved being in a more cosy and intimate space where we could relax and prepare a meal in the same space as well as look at that spectacular view! It is certainly big enough for up to four people, but we personally preferred this cottage to the ‘full house’ size of the School House. We wouldn’t be disappointed to stay in any of Dan and Angela’s pristine cottages but Francis Cottage now has a place in our hearts. 

 

Dan and Angela are exactly as hosts should be. Friendly, professional and respecting of your privacy whilst on holiday. We will be sure to return and return again. 

 

We would recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful, quiet holiday in Cornwall away from the madding tourist crowds on a spectacular stretch of coastline. 

 

Bring your boots and let Cornwall do what it does best… and Dan and Angela provide all the comforts of a home away from home! 

Francis-May 2021

Shelley Thomas

School House is a lovely property in what can only be described as an idyllic location. Angela and Daniel, the owners, are friendly, helpful and available whilst leaving guests to enjoy their stay. As a lone traveller, it was comforting to know they were onsite in case there were issues, but there were none.
The cottage is beautifully decorated and furnished and although the equipment in the kitchen was more basic than usual to allow for thorough cleaning after each stay, there was nothing missing that I needed.
St Genny’s is an idyllic location- very quiet and peaceful (and as a small hamlet, I imagine it would be peaceful all year round), but handy for more popular tourist destinations along the North coast.
I will definitely be returning in the future; School House is a lovely base from which to explore North Cornwall and I can’t recommend it highly enough.

School House-May 2021

Leanne Whitehead

Just wanted to say thank you for a lovely stay. We had the best few days and the cottage was absolutely perfect for our needs.

School House-Apr 2021

Bruce Smithson

What a gem!

We needed a break and this was exactly what we got at the Old School House! It was quiet enough to rest and relax, but with enough going on to keep your attention.
The location is just lovely for a fresh walk over to Crackington Haven and not in an area swamped with tourists! The South West coastal path is within sight of the door step!!!
The accommodation is lovely! Clean, tidy and luxurious. We left feeling calm and restored... ready to face a long Covid winter ... starting with lockdown 2.0!

We would not hesitate in recommending to anyone!

School House-Nov 2020

Laura & Steven Gerrans

Lovely hosts and a perfect location, the view from the lounge is spectacular. Very cosy cottage on a wet and windy day.

Lanes-Oct 2020

Phillipa Pearson

Thank you so much for such an amazing stay. We LOVE Cornwall, but it's staying here that makes it so special. I am sure we will be back!

Francis-Sept 2020

Mark Earley

We arrived to a warm and friendly welcome from Daniel and Angela.
The positives did not end there, the School House was just perfect. We enjoyed a 5 night stay and were only disappointed when we had to leave.
We would definitely like to return in the future and would highly recommend it to a couple, family or 2 couples as there is plenty of space and the grounds are beautifully well kept.
Daniel and Angela were always there if we needed them but were also respectful of our space and privacy.
It was a wonderful walk to the local beach (for the able bodied) and we had plenty of ideas of things to do with the welcome pack.

School House-Sept 2020

James Bunce

Beautiful Cottage, Beautiful Location, Very Friendly and helpful Hosts. Have already recommended to my Parents who are staying in the adjoining cottage next week!! 

Francis-Sept 2020

Richard Gradus

Beautiful accommodation. Superb hosts. Go, you will not regret it.

If you’re going to staycation, do it here. It is just sublime. Views to for for, luxury accommodation and a very reasonable price, and all of Cornwall to explore. Will visit again 

Francis-Sept 2020

Robin Cater   

Lovely cottage, lovely location & lovely owners.

Book it, you wont regret.

Francis-Sept 2020

Alan Hayes  

Excellent accommodation, well equipped, very comfortable and spotless!

Francis-Aug 2020

Joe, Andrea & Lily Graham      

We were drawn to the cottage on account of the stunning sea views in the photos online, not to mention the proximity to the stunning coastal path which was a major bonus. In challenging conditions (Covid-19) both Daniel and Angela went the extra mile to make us welcome and ensure our holiday was safe and highly enjoyable despite the general circumstances. The cottage was immaculate and the remote location idyllic, incredibly peaceful and relaxing. We can honestly say we had the best week’s sleep we’ve had in a very long time!

 Many memorable walks were had, body boarding sessions & a picnic on the cliffs too, and we loved the walk over to Crackington Haven for coffees and beers by the beach. The old church next to the cottage was incredibly picturesque and boasts the most diverse lichen flora in the country (150 species apparently!). Boscastle is highly recommended and on our last night we devoured scrumptious fish and chips on the rocks watching the sun set over the sea. Can’t think of a better way to close the holiday.

 We loved our stay at St Gennys and hope to be back before long. Highly recommended.

Francis-July 2020

David Lischka

Just a short note to say how much we enjoyed our week in the Old School House.

Your location is just fantastic and we took full advantage of the various walking paths that fan out from St Genny's Church.  We were lucky with the weather, so our photo album is now full of great views out over the sea, and across the hills.  It did rain a couple of days, but the cottage was very spacious and well laid out so we just enjoyed the chance to relax.

I must also mention your gardens which are impressively well looked after.  I don't envy the amount of work required, but we certainly appreciated it, and can recommend it to anyone as a place for a barbecue with views down to the sea.

I'm sure we'll be back in future, and maybe, once Covid is over, we can sample your cream tea.

School House-July 2020

Mrs Fiona Eccleston

Angela and Daniel were very welcoming, helpful and friendly. There were fresh cut flowers in the house and delicious home made scones with jam and cream and a Victoria sponge cake on our arrival, what more could you ask for! Perfect after a day walking the coastal path. The location was excellent for us, out of town and quiet yet only 10 mins walk to the coastal path. The property is also close to Crackington Haven with Boscastle, Tintagel and Bude all within 30mins drive with lots of surf beaches in between.

Lane's - Oct 2019

Miss Susan Tomlinson

We had a fabulous holiday at Francis' cottage! The views of the sea are amazing and it's easy to get on to the coastal path and walk down to Crackington Haven. We loved it there because it's so peaceful and beautiful and yet we could easily get to other places along the coast. We visited Tintagel, Newquay, Boscastle and Port Isaac for sight seeing and shops. Excellent wi fi, which is what we needed. The owners are very special people - they were available at all times to answer any questions and deal with any issues immediately. We all loved this place and hope to return.

Francis - Sept 2019

Miss L Newman

My partner and I have returned from a wonderful week stay at this cottage. We were in awe from the moment we drove up to the front of the house. As we stepped out of the car we looked across miles of stunning views. A warm welcome awaited by the owner Angela who showed us around and gave info of local pubs & places to visit and a lovely cream tea which was such a delightful treat. The cottage is immaculately presented and furnished with gorgeous side tables and fittings, clearly chosen with great care and a great eye for quality. Spotlessly clean ! We have stayed in many cottage lets, however this place far surpasses all of them. Perfect for some peace and quiet. Such amazing views on coastal walks, immaculately clean & perfectly furnished. 10 out of 10!! We loved it. Thank you. We will be back.

School House - Sept 2019

Claire & Laurence Pearl

We had the ‘perfect' weekend staying in School House Cottage. It starts with a great view of the sea as you arrive. The facilities were outstanding, everything was spotlessly clean and the owners; Angela and Daniel, could not have been any more welcoming. They are perfect hosts, being on hand whenever necessary but also allowing their guests to have their our own space if required. The old school building has been brilliantly and sympathetically converted into three self-contained cottages with Angela and Daniel residing in the remaining part of the building. The excellent location allows for easy exploration of the South West Coast Path and there is a short walk to the beautiful cove at Crackington Haven where there is a great pub and a couple of good cafes.
We are already planning to return to St Gennys Cottages a.s.a.p. Can’t wait!

School House - June 2019

Wolfgang Wellhoefer

We were welcomed with classic cream tea and a delicious cake and could spend 5 wonderful days in a very stylishly furnished cottage. Our hosts were very helpful when we once saw a problem coming back to the cottage by bus offering to fetch us with their car. Very extraordinary and kind. The great coast in direct proximity invited us to one or the other fantastic hike. The short way to the pub with very nice service did accomplish our well-being. Gladly again!

Francis Cottage - June 2019

Alison & Terry Kirk

We would just like to say thanks for your hospitality last week, your cottages are in such a lovely setting, and we loved Francis Cottage. And, we were so lucky with the weather!

Francis Cottage - May 2019

Sue Gray

I have stayed in both Francis and School House Cottages. They are both beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and comfortable. They both have a homely feel and are full of character. The surrounding countryside is breath taking

and the peaceful, quiet atmosphere offers a relaxing, chill- out holiday. Angela and Daniel are both welcoming, friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. I would recommend this wonderful holiday retreat to anyone.

Francis & School House Cottage - April 2019

Chris Broadbent

Just to say a sincere' thank-you' from us both for all your hospitality and kindness last week.

The setting is lovely, your accommodation is just perfect and you are both such lovely people to deal with.

Lane's Cottage - April 2019

Kathryn Manning

We've stayed in both Lane's and Francis cottage, and had a brilliant time.  Both cottages are beautifully presented, with everything you could need available for you. The cream tea waiting for you on arrival is fabulous, and there are lovely little touches like fresh flowers which make the stay a real treat. Angela and Daniel are great hosts - friendly and welcoming, and very accommodating. The location is a perfect combination of remote - very quiet, great views and lovely walks, but close enough to Crackington Haven that you can pop out for an evening meal with no problem.  Highly recommended.

Lane's & Francis Cottage - Oct 2018

Emma Wragg

Can't recommend this place highly enough
Just returned from a lovely week here, cottages are so beautiful and location too makes you feel so relaxed. Owners are so welcoming and lovely
Absolutely love it here

Francis- April 2018

bottom of page